Driving without insurance in Connecticut

0



To legally drive in Connecticut, you will need an active auto insurance policy. The state of Connecticut has relatively stiff penalties for driving without insurance, so it’s important to make sure you meet minimum auto insurance requirements. You may also want to purchase additional coverage to protect yourself financially. Here’s what you need to know to make sure you don’t face fines or legal consequences.

Minimum insurance required in Connecticut

Connecticut auto insurance laws require drivers to purchase the following insurance coverage:

  • A minimum of $ 25,000 per person and $ 50,000 per accident in bodily liability
  • A minimum of $ 25,000 per accident in liability insurance for property damage
  • A minimum of $ 25,000 per person and $ 50,000 per accident in coverage for uninsured / underinsured motorists

Personal injury liability coverage helps pay for medical bills or the death of another party in an accident you cause, while property damage liability coverage helps pay for repairs to property you damaged with your vehicle. Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Coverage is designed to pay your medical bills if you are injured in a hit and run or by a driver without the minimum insurance coverage required.

None of these coverages cover your medical expenses or repairs to your vehicle after an accident you cause. If you are at fault and want to protect your finances, you will likely need comprehensive and collision coverage. The Connecticut State Department of Insurance is also urging drivers to purchase higher limits of liability coverage.

Penalties for driving without insurance in Connecticut

If you’re caught driving without proof of insurance in Connecticut, you’ll be fined $ 50, plus other fees, for a total of $ 117. But if you drive without an active insurance policy, or if you lend your car to someone else without having insurance for the vehicle, the penalties are much worse.

Driving or allowing someone to drive your vehicle if it is uninsured is considered a Class C offense in the state of Connecticut. You can expect to face the following consequences:

  • As the owner of the vehicle, you could be fined $ 500, up to three months in prison, or both.
  • The driver of the vehicle will also be fined $ 100 to $ 1,000.
  • If you have a commercial registration, the penalty increases to $ 5,000 or up to five years in prison.
  • Your registration and driver’s license will be suspended for one month for your first offense and six months for any subsequent offense.
  • Your vehicle could be impounded until you can provide proof of insurance.
  • You will need to show proof of insurance and pay $ 175 to have your license reinstated.

Connecticut Online Insurance Verification System Fee

Even if you don’t drive your car, you must maintain an active insurance policy as long as you have active registration. If you allow your insurance policy to expire, your insurer will notify the DMV and you will receive a notice of suspension of registration.

If you don’t dispute, you can pay a civil penalty of $ 200 and be required to provide proof of insurance or an SR-22 certificate to avoid license suspension. If you do not respond to the notice within 30 days by entering into a consent agreement and providing proof of insurance, returning your license plates, or transferring ownership of your vehicle, the DMV may suspend your license. To drive. At this point, you will need to attend a hearing, show proof of your new insurance policy, and pay a reinstatement fee of $ 175.

Additionally, if a police officer catches you driving an uninsured vehicle or sees it parked in a public area, it may be impounded. If this happens, you may need to pay towing charges and storage charges until you can provide proof of insurance.

Reason for costs Amount of fees
Consent agreement after forfeiture of insurance $ 200
Towing costs $ 105 for light vehicles, plus $ 4.75 / mile over two miles
Storage costs $ 9 per day for light vehicles
Reinstatement costs $ 175

Getting into an accident without insurance

While the fines and legal consequences of uninsured driving in Connecticut are reason enough to purchase an insurance policy, the consequences of a car accident can be even more financially devastating if you don’t. no insurance. Since Connecticut is a responsible state, you could be sued for the full amount of the other party’s medical bills and repairs in an accident you cause.

To give you an idea of ​​the cost of a at-fault accident without insurance, the average personal injury claim was $ 18,417 in 2019 and the average property damage liability claim was $ 4,525, according to the Insurance Information Institute.

You should also consider getting comprehensive coverage and collision insurance, especially if you need your car to get to work. Without this coverage, you would be forced to repair your vehicle if you cause an accident.

Frequently Asked Questions

What happens if you provide false insurance information?

Using a false insurance card constitutes a misrepresentation under Connecticut law and is considered a Class A misdemeanor, which can result in up to one year in prison and a fine of $ 2,000. You are also likely to get caught because Connecticut has an online insurance verification system. No matter how much money you can save, using a fake insurance card and driving without insurance is probably not worth the risk.

How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in Connecticut?

The average cost of auto insurance in Connecticut is $ 794 per year for a minimum coverage policy and $ 1,845 per year for a full coverage policy, which is slightly higher than the national average. You could pay more than that if you have accidents or a DUI on your record, but you could also pay less if you compare auto insurance quotes online. It’s a good idea to speak with a licensed insurance agent to determine the coverage options that are right for you.

What is the best auto insurance company in Connecticut?

The best auto insurance company for you will depend on the individual factors affecting your premium. The provider with the lowest premium may not always be the best choice. You may want to do some research to compare quotes and coverage and determine which auto insurance companies have a good reputation for customer satisfaction and financial strength.

Methodology

Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze rates for all postal codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, DC Rates shown are based on a 40 year old male and female driver with a clean driving record , good credit and the following comprehensive coverage limits:

  • $ 100,000 of civil liability per person
  • Civil liability of $ 300,000 per accident
  • Liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
  • $ 100,000 of uninsured bodily injury by a motorist per person
  • $ 300,000 in uninsured bodily injury by a motorist per accident
  • $ 500 collision deductible
  • Full $ 500 deductible

To determine the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our sample drivers own a 2018 Honda Accord, commute five days a week, and travel 12,000 miles a year.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes. Your quotes may be different.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.